Ski and Snowboard this 2020/2021 season


Robyn Ryan

The Waunakee Alpine Ski team had a very successful 2019 season. The girls team qualified now-Junior Ava Ludwig and graduate Gretchen Johnson as individuals to the state tournament. Ludwig finished fourth in the Super G, fifth in the Giant Slalom, 86th in the Slalom, and 26th overall. 

For the boys, the entire team qualified with high finishes by Lawson Ludwig (first place in Giant Slalom, second in the Super G, sixth in the Slalom, and third overall). With a majority of their team returning this season, the team strives to return back to state. 

This season will be different than normal, no surprise, with a large change being the season length. They will only have two regular races and one WHSARA (Wisconsin High School Alpine Racing Association). The likeness of the WIARA Championship (Wisconsin Interscholastic Alpine Racing Association) occurring is unknown, but Ava Ludwig is hoping to qualify as a team and individually. She mentions that with less teams being able to compete, there will be less competition for the team to qualify. 

The teams first race is scheduled for January 25, 2021 at Tyrol Basin.



The Waunakee High School Snowboard teams are in the same boat as the Alpine team–a shorter season with a chance of a State tournament. While returning a majority of last year’s team, a big goal is to return to the State tournament. 

Last season, the girls team placed second in the Border Slalom with 44 points, first in Boardercross with 36 points, and second overall with a total of 137 team points. That team was made up of IDK Cami Streifel (4th), IDK Sarah Meyer (6th), current junior Calia Hinckley (13th), IDK Lilah Darragh (16th), current senior Val Cisewski (38th), IDK Tessa Mehnert (39th), and 2020 Graduate Isabella McDonald (41st). 

The boys team placed sixth overall with a combined score of 115 points with a team of current seniors AJ Beery (15th) and Calvin Spoden (60th), current juniors Carson Roepke (36th) and Ben Farnsworth (42nd), 2020 Graduates RJ Uhrina (43rd), Cade Swalve (49th), and Mitch Moriarty (54th).

This year, both teams hope to have all members compete in a race

Photo Submitted by Ava Ludwig (photographer is unknown)